Candied Orange Peels (source Calabria from Scratch)

January 18, 2012 at 15:30 3 comments


Hi! What a lovely sunny day we have here in Moscow! And I feel that spring is close :o), but in Russia we steel have a lot of snow by now.
Ooh, yes, and what about candied orange peels? I made them for Christmas :o) and it was such a treat. Yummy-yummy-yum! :o)



  Cut the peel of oranges into strips about one inch. Boil them for two minutes five times (every time use cold  & fresh water). After the third blanching remove the white pith. After the five times boiling make the simple syrup with 4 cups of sugar, 2 cups of water and 2 tblsp. of lemon juice. Add the peels and cook until the peels look glassy ad translucent (about an hour). Remove from the heat and let them cool in the syrup over night.

 Next morning remove the excess syrup with your fingers and let the peels dry about 24 hours

 Coat them with the sugar :o)

All instructions are HERE at Calabria from Scratch (VIDEO)
Hope all of you are fine and I wish you all the best :o)
Hugs from Russia
Natasha

Entry filed under: Artists, cute stuff, Food, recipes.

GIVEAWAY!!! Frost

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Madelief  |  January 18, 2012 at 22:11

    Dear Natalia,Thank you for your sweet comments on my blog! I really enjoyed them.Your candied orange peel longs delicious. I never made anything like it. Thank you for showing us how to prepare it.Lieve groet,Madelief x

  • 2. Natalia Glazacheva  |  January 18, 2012 at 22:25

    Thank you, Madelief!HugsNatasha

  • 3. Sue  |  January 23, 2012 at 05:45

    Hi from Atlanta Georgia….I saw you on Ann's blog from Scotland….thought I would stop over…I love making orange peel and haven't done it in awhile…I usually dip mine in melted chocolate (just the ends)…..I see you have 4 children….I have a 4 year old grand daughter that I write about all the time….stop by my blog sometime and take a peek….forget todays post on the football game and go back a few to see my girl in her annual calendar…everyone comes to my blog every year to see it….I think you'll enjoy seeing it….Sue in Atlanta

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello! Thank you for stopping by my blog.

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Feeds

Flickr Photos

Twitter Widgets
Powered By Vistaprint